In Memoriam

Honoring past recipients of Hanno R. Ellenbogen Award that have past away

The Hanno R. Ellenbogen Award has been awarded annually since 2000 - with the only exception of 2012 when no recipient was named. The award honors dedication to and achievment in public service, particularly in Central and Eastern Europe.

This page commemorates former recipients of the award that have passed away. Despite their passing their dedication, achievements and message will continue to be honored. In memoriam of: Miloš Forman, Václav Havel, Madeleine Albright, King Michael of Romania, Desmond Mullan and Iva Drápalová.

King Michael of Romania

His Majesty King Michael I of Romania was the recipient of the 6th Hanno R. Ellenbogen award. Forced by the communist to leave his own country in 1947, he returned in 1992 and was greeted by millions of people, only to be banished again until 1996. King Michael donated the financial part of the award to medical Bioengineering student Petrisor Ostafie. King Michael of Romania died on the 5th of December 2017 aged 96.

Miloš Forman

Miloš Forman, a czech film director who was the recipient of the 5th Hanno R. Ellenbogen award.  After being banned in his home country for the controversial film The Firemen’s ball (1967), Forman settled in the United States and gained worldwide recognition with films like: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest  (1975) and Amadeus (1984). Forman used the financial part of the award to provide scholarships to three students at the Film Academy of Miroslav Ondříček in Písek. Miloš Forman died on the 13th of April 2018 aged 86.

Václav Havel

Václav Havel was a Czech writer and dissident who served as the last president of Czechoslovakia until its dissolution in 1992 and then as the first president of the Czech Republic, he was awarded the 3ed Hanno R. Ellenbogen award. Havel donated the financial part of the award to Andrej Dynko, the editor-in-chief of the independent Belarusian newspaper Nasha Niva. Václav Havel died on the 18th December 2011 aged 75.

Iva Drápalová

Iva Drápalová was an Associated Press correspondent in Prague between 1968 and 1988 and the recipient of the 14th Hanno R. Ellenbogen award. Working as a journalist, a translator at the Velvet Revolution press conferences and as a consultant for the Los Angeles Times she helped keep Czechoslovakia relevant in the Western press. Iva Drápalová died in 2016 aged 91.

Desmond Mullan 

Desmond Mullan, managing director of Volvo Auto Czech 2000-2006,  was one of the Prague Society’s staunchest supporters and a remarkable individual who contributed greatly to the world of business, education (International School in Prague), religion (congregation of the Roman Catholic Church of St Thomas in Mala Strana), civil society and the arts in the Czech Republic. His sudden passing in a tragic accident touched the Society and beyond.